Sweet Sixteen

My beloved daughter,

You did it! You got there… who’d have thought it… sixteen years old and you’re still alive! Congratulations, my princess.

Exactly sixteen years ago I was in a labour ward with your Dad and your Nan, waiting for your arrival into the world. I was excited, nervous and so very frightened. How would I cope? What kind of mother would I be? Where was that rule book?? You finally joined us just after eight in the morning, and all the doubts receded. You were perfect and I was so proud. You would have the best I could give you, you would be loved and cherished and, most of all, happy.

The journey to here has been long, sometimes exhausting, but full of moments I would not give up, not for the world. I’m trying to find the words to tell you how proud I am of you, but whatever I say will never be enough. You have taught me patience… strength… unconditional love… and endless joy. You have given me the best reasons to smile, to cry and often, to giggle uncontrollably.

I see your face and I am amazed by the young woman I have in front of me. You are beautiful, you are unique and your talents are endless. I am so proud to be your mum.

So… Enjoy your day, have lots of fun, and remember that you are wonderful… a special young lady who has my heart, always. Happy 16th birthday, my princess x x x x x

Leave a Reply

