Ten Conversations Worth Having

In a rollercoaster week of major highs and major lows, there have been moments, as there always are. Some conversations are simply stunning, and worth remembering, even if just for the giggles. Here goes (in no particular order)…

1) With my 2 year old nephew

‘Hello gorgeous’

‘Hello, have you come to see me?’

‘Yes, I wanted to give you a big kiss, can I have one?’

He clambers up onto my lap, puts his head on one side and studies me.

‘Take your glasses off and do your hair. It’s messy.’

Oh… ok… thanks.

2) With a friend via text

‘Hiya. Any brighter since this morning’s text?’

‘I don’t want to play anymore’

‘Then sit on the benches til you do xxx’

‘I don’t want any part of it’

‘No need to then. You do whatever makes you feel better or less stressed xxx’

‘Not waking up in the morning and having to face crap. That would make me feel better’

‘Ah, different rules. Basically it’s tough shit then xxx’

Thank god for friends who say it like it is.

3) With my teenage daughter, in reference to the new boyfriend

‘I’m going to meet his mum tomorrow! I said I’d be there about 1, so I’ll leave here about quarter past 12.’

‘Ok, I’ll make sure I’m ready.’

‘What? You’re not coming!!’

‘Oh I am… and your brother… and Nan… and aunties… We’ve hired a minibus for ‘Meet the Parents’ day.’

‘You’re so not FUNNY!!’

‘I don’t know what you mean; We’ve been practising our best dance moves and everything…’

Me: dancing around the landing like a woman possessed.

Her: hand over face.

4) With a friend via Skype

‘Turn your volume down, I’m going to video call.’

‘I’d need to find my cam first, haven’t used it in days…’

‘Find it then. I’ll be waiting. No excuses.’

‘Ok… but if you tell me I look like death, I will cry…’

Call connects.

‘Ohhhh you look shattered. Not like death, but exhausted.’

Why thank you!

5) With a friend via text

‘Afternoon, twat’

‘Shut up.’

‘Ha make me’

‘My hair is purple’

‘Send me a pic please…’

‘Ha make me’

‘I said, send me a pic!’

‘Ha make me’

6) With the lorry driver, right after he’d run me off the road

‘I’m so sorry, I can’t believe it…’

‘What happened??’

‘I just went to move lanes, and I didn’t see you, what with the weather.’

‘Ohhhhh right… Yes, I’m snow blind too…’

‘You must have been, like, RIGHT next to me.’

‘Yes, that’s allowed, it’s a road…’

‘It’s my first day driving for this company, too.’

And maybe it will be your last…

7) While visiting a friend

‘I have to confess, I forgot you the other day. I was talking about needing a male perspective on something, from someone impartial. I didn’t think of you…’

‘I’m not really impartial, though, am I?’

‘I think you are, you don’t have an agenda.’

Taking my face in his hands…

‘I do. You’re one of my best friends… and I’d love to see you truly happy. But I’d hate it if you weren’t available anymore…’

Bless him.

8) With a friend, via text, as I left the hospital

‘I’ve had the results of my screening. Everything came back clear.’

‘Awesome, well done!!’

Really??

9) With an ex-pupil in Asda

‘Hi Miss! Mum, this is my old teacher, do you remember? The one I know where she lives!’

Mum smiles politely here.

‘How’s it going? What are you up to now?’

‘I’m at college… Really loving it… Though I should revise more.’

‘I remember telling you that, lots of times.’

‘I know… I keep wanting to message you on facebook, but I didn’t want to seem like a stalker…’

But you know where I live?!

10) With my 4 year old niece, while watching television

‘What’s this?’

‘It’s Monster High’

She tries to sing along to the theme tune…

‘Shall I find out the words to the song for you?’

‘Noooooo… I know it already…’

‘Do you?’

‘Yeh… Walking down do dooo dooo doooooo, everybody ba bahhh boooo booooo…’

Hmmmmmm. Sounds about right, I suppose…

3 thoughts on “Ten Conversations Worth Having

  1. very cute. I have been wondering about you – hopefully all is well. i particularly like the conversation with your daughter. It is my parent’s job to embarrass their kids isn’t it?? 🙂
    Take care.

    • I’m working on it… I decided to stay quiet until I could post something a little more positive. The ups are coming more frequently, and the downs aren’t lasting quite so long… That’s progress, right??
      Embarrassing your children a little is one of the bonuses of all the hard work you do; I’ve become a master where my daughter is concerned 🙂
      I hope you’re finding some ups too x x

      • I have them. Here and there. That’s why I post items like my son’s art work, a poem about cookies basketball – there is this thing called March Madness in the States. Notice they connected to my boys – they are my ups;)

Leave a Reply

