Afraid

[-frd]

adj

1) Filled with fear

2) Having feelings of aversion or unwillingness in regard to something

3) Filled with regret or concern

“We are afraid to care too much, for fear that the other person does not care at all…” – Eleanor Roosevelt

I am afraid. I try not to be, but I can’t help it. It is too easy to judge people because of the mistakes of others, and it is hard to forget being heartbroken when someone lets you down. My happiness is a fragile thing, and despair still knocks my door unexpectedly.

But I’ve been here before, and I wonder that this time I’ll choose the same again. Is this the insanity I spoke of several posts back, or is it a chance at real happiness that I’d be silly to pass by? Time will tell, I believe. But I think that if I don’t find my courage, I’ll end up filled with regret.

“I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.” – Nelson Mandela

6 thoughts on “Afraid

  1. Hi. I am happy to see you back. I hope you are well. Afraid happens to all of us. And despair – it sucks and it does come unexpectedly. We just have to keep fighting. xxxx

Leave a Reply

