My Heart Is Heavy

I think of you so many times every day.

Today is no different; you are there in my thoughts

And I wonder what you’re thinking of, and how you are.

I think about calling, but I know it isn’t best.

 

You want your space, and that is what you will have.

You need your time to think, and I understand.

This isn’t how you imagined ‘us’, is it? I must confess,

It isn’t how I imagined either. My heart is heavy.

 

My heart is heavy, and my mood is melancholic.

I’m thinking all the time about emotions, mine and yours,

And I’m wondering how things will resolve.

But today, I know I will be ok.

 

Today, I know I won’t shed tears. There have been too many

And the highs and lows have been crippling for too long.

I feel something today that I’ve not known for a while.

I feel my strength and something else. Is it resignation?

 

A belief that things will end up as they should, perhaps.

Your choices are yours, and they may not mirror mine,

But even then, I’ll be alright. My heart is heavy

And I am sad, but your choices are yours.

 

You see, I only want you if you are sure.

I want your hand in mine, and my head on your shoulder

But only if it is right for you.  I’ll let you go,

Because I want you back. My heart is heavy.

 

heart

4 thoughts on “My Heart Is Heavy

Leave a Reply

