Dear Father Christmas

christmas

Dear Father Christmas,

How has your Christmas been? Rather busy, I expect. I hope you’re finding time to relax with your family now that the festive period is coming to an end.

Thank you for the books; it is always a pleasure to find something new to read in my stocking, and your choices were perfect, as usual. I must confess to being quite disappointed at the surprise gift of a chest infection but have since come to the conclusion that, once again, you’d managed to come up trumps. After all, without it I might not have had the joy of experiencing my son, now growing up fast, being protective of his mum, shielding me from the rain, carrying my shopping and making me endless warm drinks. It is easy not to notice the small things, but you highlighted them for me and made me smile.

The loss of my voice also gave me an excuse not to make ‘small talk’ with various relatives, but to observe quietly the wonder of Christmas from the point of view of my dear nieces and nephew. How excitable they were! I can’t imagine a better way to spend Christmas than listening to their chatter and giggles, stories and songs. Thank you, once again.

I missed Midnight Mass this year, being too busy coughing and spluttering, but ‘Carols by Candlelight’ more than made up for that. Seeing my daughter singing with the choir again was divine and I wouldn’t have missed it for the world.

It has been a long year full of seemingly endless disappointment and tough lessons to learn but, in true Christmas spirit, I am ending the year surrounded by love. Before long a new year will begin, and I am looking forward to it.

Merry Christmas,

OrdinaryGirl x x x x

2 thoughts on “Dear Father Christmas

Leave a Reply

