Not Afraid

I’m not afraid of letting go, I’m not too scared to try,

I’m not jumping at shadows, not ashamed they saw me cry.

I’m not too spooked to close my eyes, I’m not afraid to dream,

I’m not convinced my world will end in secret, silent screams.

I’m not concerned that things have changed; the world I knew’s not gone,

I’m not afraid to feel again, not alarmed at moving on.

I’m not afraid to see his face, or walk with head held high,

I found my confidence, my truth; I found my reason why.

 

For Michael, with thanks… I’m truly not afraid.

 

3 thoughts on “Not Afraid

Leave a Reply

